Grand Strand, Pee Dee schools named 2014 National Blue Ribbon winners

Six South Carolina schools are named as 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools. The honor includes Socastee Elementary in Myrtle Beach and Royall Elementary in Florence. Other South Carolina schools include:
  • Hanahan Elementary School (Hanahan, Berkeley County)
  • Hanahan Middle School (Hanahan, Berkeley County)
  • Prince of Peace Catholic School (Taylors, Greenville County)
  • West View Elementary School (Spartanburg, Spartanburg County)
The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program was started in 1982 to recognize public and private elementary, middle, and high schools for overall academic excellence or progress in closing achievement gaps among students from disadvantaged backgrounds.
U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan will participate in a recognition ceremony in November in Washington D.C. Schools receive a plaque signifying their achievement as a National Blue Ribbon School.
A list of all 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools will be available on the U. S. Department of Education’s website.

Comments are closed.