Conway Chamber of Commerce names Horry County’s “Most Outstanding Senior”

From The Conway Chamber of Commerce

CONWAY, S.C. (PRESS RELEASE)-  Samantha McGee Bindner, a Socastee High School senior, was named Horry County’s “2016 Most Outstanding Senior” during the Conway Chamber of Commerce Salute To Education ceremony held on Wednesday, May 18th, 2016 at Horry Electric Cooperative. Mr. Brandon Blair, the student pastor at Langston Baptist Church and campus pastor of Conway Christian School, served as the keynote speaker. Samantha Bindner received the $1,000 Conway Chamber of Commerce Salute To Education Scholarship and was given the opportunity to recognize Ms. Peggy Stone as her “most inspirational teacher”. For the past 48 years, the Conway Chamber of Commerce has presented over 638 awards to Horry County’s top academic students and their “most inspirational teachers”.

Samantha Bindner is ranked #3 in her graduating class, a Duke TIPS Scholar, Cornelius Vanderbilt Scholar, Furman College Scholar, Wofford College Scholar, Coker College Scholar, Erskine College Scholar and Palmetto Fellows recipient. Samantha is a 2015 Duke of Endinburgh Bronze Medal recipient, Miss Socastee High School 2015, Palmetto Girls State Delegate, Student Body President, 2014-2015 and 2015-2016 Socastee High School Dance Team Captain, 2015-2016 President of Mu Alpha Theta, National Honors Society member and Spanish and English National Honors Society member. Samantha has been invited into the honors program at Vanderbilt University, Clemson University, University of South Carolina, Converse College and UNC-Chapel hill. Samantha created “Don’t Be Mean: Intervene”, an organization to spread acts of kindness to combat antagonism and also volunteers her time to Specail Needs Halloween Party, Barnabus Foundation, the Children’s Miracle League and the Reading Buddy Program. She plans to attend Vanderbilt University.

The 2016 Salute To Education nominees in addition to Samantha Bindner included: Anna Carpenter-Academy for Technology and Academics, Brandon Lynch-Academy for Arts, Science, and Technology, Bailey Richardson-Aynor High School, Alex Del Castillo-HSC Early College High School, Nicole Hardwick-Carolina Forest High School, Lauren Kosin-Conway Christian School, Alyssa Waibel-Conway High School, Hailey Todd-Green Sea Floyds High School, Taylor Kennedy-Loris High School, Carly Sincavitch-Myrtle Beach High School, Mara Hartsell-North Myrtle Beach High School, Jamie Karl-Scholars Academy Program and Alexandra Valcourt-St. James High School.

The student honorees were chosen by their school’s guidance counselors based on a uniform grid system. Samantha Bindner was selected as the scholarship recipient through an interview process involving area business and educational leaders. The teacher honorees are chosen by each student for having served as an inspiration to excel in the life of that student. For more information about the Salute To Education call the Conway Chamber of Commerce at 843-248-2273.

Comments are closed.