Local players, coaches named to Palmetto Champions team

Hannah-Pamplico head coach Jamie Johnson

The South Carolina Football Coaches Association announced its Palmetto Champions All-Star team Sunday. It features a list of the top linemen, backs, specialists and coaches by classification. Below are the Pee Dee and Grand Strand coaches and players that made the list. All are eligible for the overall award in their category. The SCFCA will announce those honors in late November.


5A Lower State – Marc Morris (Carolina Forest)

A Lower State – Jamie Johnson (Hannah-Pamplico)


3A Lower State lineman – Jermaine McDaniel (Dillon)

2A Lower State lineman – Byron Young (Carvers Bay)

A Upper State back – Ricardo Wright (McBee)

A Lower State back – Duane Nichols (Lake View)

A Lower State lineman – Jacob Springs (Green Sea-Floyds)

2A specialist – DeQuan Carr (Carvers Bay)